Skip to content

Too Short Around Here

August 10, 2010

2 miles today. And that was hard. Real hard. Harder than I thought it would be. Got to get back my running legs and get into running shape.  I find that I have to have a very motivational talk with myself the whole time I’m running (well…after about 1/2 a mile) telling myself I can do it and not letting any negative thoughts in.  Negative thoughts are my downfall when it comes to running. They just seep in unexpectedly and encourage me to walk for just a little bit, which isn’t so bad if it didn’t tell me that everytime I picked up my pace. So instead of listening I have a little argument in my head

“Alright when you get to that stop sign we can walk”
“No, I just started running there is no way I’m walking already”
“Well, your kind of out of shape so this workout is going a bit better than you expected already, so let’s just start walking”
“No Way, I can do this! I can run all of this without stopping”
 

So that is way better than it used to be. I used to just listen to that little walking devil on my shoulder but I’m replacing him with my running angel on my other shoulder. Yea!!!

Anywho, I had a failed breakfast today. Blah, nasty but it had such potential. It was just an english muffin with one side almond butter and honey while the other almond butter and nutella. But yet it went so wrong! So So Wrong. I didn’t toast the bread long enough and since I had just pulled that box out from the freezer the bread was super soggy. Yuck!

I tried to save it by adding a egg. But alas it did not help so I just ate the egg

 

I don’t even like posting pictures of this. But it was saved by some yummy Iced Coffee for the road.

Iced Coffee

1/3 cup coffee of choice
2 cups water

Put ingredients in a mason jar and let sit overnight or more. Filter jar mixture through a filter into cup, add desired amount of water, sugar, creamer, milk. And of course Ice Cubes!

I headed out with Miette’s Grandma and we had a great and fun time at Trader Joe’s (So happy they have one here in Richmond!) and Whole Foods (kind of on the expensive side) and ate lunch. Such fun. I had my first Larabar while we were out due to being a bit low on energy.

This flavor was horrible and I will never get it again. I think it was just that I didn’t like the flavor but it definitely had the potential so I have a few other flavors in my cabinet to try out. Speaking of firsts I also had my first Green Monster Smoothie. I did the virgin but added a couple of blueberries.

1 1/2 cup spinach
1 tsp Hemp Protein Powder
1 cup of almond non-dairy
1 banana
handful of blueberries
Ice

It was a different taste by far. I will have to get used to spinach being in a smoothie because I was a little weirded out and apprehensive about it at first. Next time I will start it with being a bit more fruity and less spinach and work up to it. But I give myself props for trying it! Normally I wouldn’t ever take a sip.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

