Skip to content

Where to Put It

August 28, 2010

So now that I have my own place and am cooking up a storm and doing regular grocery shopping I have come to learn the basics of kitchen organizing. My first housewife/foodie question. Whats the best way to store all these fruits and veggies? My potatoes are always going bad within two weeks, the forgotten lettuce in the back of the drawer is wet, brown, and juicy, bananas are being eaten fast enough. So I decided to look into making my food last longer around the house.

Potatoes: cool, dark place far from onions. Exam them for any sprouting or bruising and get rid of the one’s who have. Place them in a large paper bad or burlap bag with holes. Will keep for at least a month.

Celery: store in a container or plastic bag/damp cloth in the fridge

Onions: pretty similar in potatoes in that you want to store them in a cool, dry, ventilated place but away from them taters.

Bell Peppers: simply store the unwashed peppers in the fridge (veggie drawer)

Lettuce: Wrap head of lettuce in damp paper towel and store in a plastic bag in the crisper;drain if excess water pools up in the bag.

Those are just the main ones I was having problems with. I just have to get better at remembering what we have and preparing it in a more timely fashion. Both of us are embarrassed about how much food we are wasting by just letting them go bad. A plan is in a action to stop it though, just working out the details of a grocery budget and whatnot right now and getting everything organized on the food front.

 Talking about Bell Peppers though, I used up one tonight in our dinner. Meatloaf! So goooood. I haven’t had meatloaf in ages. I used to not care for it at all and would groan and complain when my mom announced that is what we would be having for dinner and it really has grown on me. The meatloaf I made tonight was chalk full of green bell peppers and onions. I could have put more in though :(. I only made a little miniloaf for Daddy, Miette, and I

Meatloaf

1 lb. ground beef
1/2 onion, chopped
1/2 pepper, chopped
2 egg whites
1 slice of bread, torn in pieces
About 1/2 of topping sauce
For topping:
1/2 cup ketchup
1/3 brown sugar
two dashes ground mustard

Preheat oven to 375 Mix all the topping ingredients together to get nice smooth sauce. Mix all the meatloaf ingredients together then place in small baking dish and cover with foil. Bake for 45 minutes. Take out and spoon remaining sauce over loaf (if need be, drain out excess fat and juices from dish before spooning sauce over) and put back in oven uncovered for about 10 minutes. Take out and serve.

Back to Baby news: I had a very fussy baby on my hands yesterday enjoy these

photos

Still cute even when she’s mad at me for her having to take a nap. But you can totally tell from the photos how tired she was lol

BTW: Does anyone want a couple of Larabars….I really can’t eat them. Just don’t think I like dates. Never had them solo before but that’s my reasoning

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 1, 2010 12:23 am

    LOVE LARA BARS!!!

Leave a Reply

