Skip to content

Let’s Get A Bottle

September 12, 2010

Finally used up the quinoa that I had bought from Good Foods Bulk aisle a few weeks ago. It was quite exciting. I decided to try it with a butternut squash I had on the counter. This was my first time cooking with butternut or even trying it from what I remember. I did a slight variation from this Butternut Squash Quinoa Warm Salad

Butternut Squash Quinoa

1cup water
1/2 cup quinoa
1 butternut squash, peeled and cubed
EVOO
Salt and Pepper to taste
1/2 orange , juiced
Preheat oven to 400. Peel and cube squash and toss with olive oil and salt and pepper. Lay cubes on foiled baking sheet and stick in the oven for about 25 minutes. While bringing the water and quinoa to a boil (remember to stir consistently….I burnt the first batch of mine by not keeping a closer eye on it..oops)  after the water is absorbed stir in the juice of half an orange. Serve squash over quinoa and enjoy.

Most of it ended up on her lap and on the floor but I got a few bites in that little tummy. I also tried out a new wine last night Cupcake Vineyards and wine is really growing on me…I actually had a few glasses……disregard the weird pic I didn’t have anyone to take a pic and I was feeling the wine a bit lol.

and yes those are leg warmers……

This morning I tried to do something different with breakfast and baked a oven baked german puff pancake

I’m not even going to post the recipe becuase it was pretty nasty. I’m going to play around with it some more and tweek it to our tasting.

This week starts my training for an upcoming 8K race in the beginning of November. I joined a beginners runner’s group offered by lululemon so I’m starting to run with a goal in mind. I can run a little bit of ways but can’t get over that 2 mile marker without walking a bit so I wanna try to run all the way. I’m going to try to slow up my pace a bit.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Carol Matsey permalink
    September 13, 2010 8:37 pm

    hey have u tried the course at Rockwood? plenty of hills

  2. September 14, 2010 5:29 pm

    I haven’t run on it yet but I really want to! Just have to find the time….once I get into the groove of waking up a bit earlier before Ian I think I’ll head over there early style and conquer those hills lol

Leave a Reply

